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raeY rebmuN
stnediccAfo

rebmuN
seirujnIfo

rebmuN
seitilataFfo

fotnuomA
egamaDytreporP

0891 756 072 211 008,930,2$

1891 827 913 78 036,556,3$

2891 696 323 301 000,794,2$

3891 846 333 59 001,317,3$

4891 197 143 39 007,194,2$

5891 968 304 67 004,642,4$

6891 147 913 86 005,546,2$

7891 509 523 45 006,183,3$

8891 547 333 15 001,693,2$

9891 236 173 34 008,966,3$

0991 167 614 05 002,131,3$

1991 057 124 85 008,356,2$

2991 986 744 95 001,063,4$

3991 347 434 76 008,250,2$

4991 907 683 04 003,047,1$

5991 338 094 25 005,635,2$

6991 058 735 65 007,142,2$

7991 529 625 34 008,662,3$

8991 277 314 85 006,992,2$

9991 709 194 24 000,468,2$

0002 609 425 15 004,830,3$

1002 709 205 84 009,148,2$

���������	����������	���
���	�������
��

* An accident is considered reportable if: a person dies, disappears, or is injured requiring medical attention
beyond first aid; vessel or other property damage exceeds $500; or there is complete loss of a vessel.  Not all
accidents are reported to the Department, due to either nonobservance or ignorance of the reporting law.
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* An accident is considered
reportable if: a person dies,
disappears, or is injured
requiring medical attention
beyond first aid; vessel or
other property damage
exceeds $500; or there is
complete loss of a vessel.  Not
all accidents are reported to
the Department, due to either
nonobservance or ignorance
of the reporting law.
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� 49% of youth operators were under the age of 16.  Of that group,
92% did not have an adult on board.  This percentage has
increased from 74% in 2001.

� For the first time since 1990, youth operators were not involved
in any fatal accidents.

The Department reminds boaters that California state law requires
boat operators to be at least 16 years of age when operating a

motorized vessel over 15
HP alone.  Persons 12-15
may operate if a person of
at least 18 years of age is
attentively supervising.
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ytnuoC rebmuN
stnediccAfo

rebmuN
seirujnIfo

rebmuN
seitilataFfo

fotnuomA
egamaDytreporP

ademalA 11 1 2 055,62$

rodamA 5 3 0 007,9$

ettuB 81 21 2 009,34$

sarevalaC 32 71 0 005,39$

asuloC 7 8 0 007,9$

atsoCartnoC 53 11 4 054,831$

odaroDlE 71 7 0 000,03$

onserF 71 9 0 005,81$

tdlobmuH 6 0 3 006,6$

lairepmI 71 31 2 051,92$

nreK 41 21 1 052,62$

sgniK 2 1 0 009,8$

ekaL 01 7 1 006,65$

nessaL 3 2 1 005,4$

selegnAsoL 46 13 0 002,042$

aredaM 32 61 1 009,32$

niraM 01 2 0 005,54$

asopiraM 4 2 0 006,8$

onicodneM 2 0 0 003,4$

decreM 2 0 1 055$

**yeretnoM 11 2 1 001,16$

apaN 52 32 1 007,91$

adaveN 8 7 0 006,01$

***egnarO 55 8 0 052,515$

* An accident is considered reportable if: a person dies, disappears, or is injured requiring medical attention
beyond first aid; vessel or other property damage exceeds $500; or there is complete loss of a vessel.  Not all
accidents are reported to the Department, due to either nonobservance or ignorance of the reporting law.

** Monterey County statistics are split between Northern and Southern California.

*** The increase in boating accidents in Orange County when compared with accident totals appearing in
previous reports is not due to an increase in accidents, but rather to an increase in the reporting of accidents
to the Department.
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ytnuoC rebmuN
stnediccAfo

rebmuN
seirujnIfo

rebmuN
seitilataFfo

fotnuomA
egamaDytreporP

recalP 82 31 2 001,87$

samulP 4 3 0 005,9$

edisreviR 85 73 0 001,98$

otnemarcaS 61 5 1 005,18$

onidranreBnaS 06 94 4 057,151$

ogeiDnaS 37 44 1 004,172$

ocsicnarFnaS 31 3 1 008,47$

niuqaoJnaS 25 72 4 051,932$

opsibOsiuLnaS 12 9 1 050,43$

oetaMnaS 3 0 0 055,11$

arabraBatnaS 5 2 0 000,11$

aralCatnaS 11 6 0 005,9$

zurCatnaS 6 0 0 006,21$

atsahS 85 72 3 059,55$

arreiS 1 0 1 0$

onaloS 41 11 0 006,08$

amonoS 61 21 4 002,02$

sualsinatS 61 01 2 000,73$

rettuS 2 2 0 000,2$

amaheT 6 1 0 000,12$

ytinirT 8 8 0 005,2$

eraluT 7 41 0 003,81$

enmulouT 71 21 1 007,72$

arutneV 11 0 1 059,04$

oloY 8 01 2 000,02$

abuY 4 3 0 007,9$

latoT 709 205 84 009,148,2$

* An accident is considered reportable if: a person dies, disappears, or is injured requiring medical attention
beyond first aid; vessel or other property damage exceeds $500; or there is complete loss of a vessel.  Not all
accidents are reported to the Department, due to either nonobservance or ignorance of the reporting law.
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ytnuoC CWPderetsigeRlatoT slesseVderetsigeRlatoT
)CWPsedulcni(

ademalA 613,4 099,13

eniplA 21 131

rodamA 271 651,3

ettuB 701,1 924,61

sarevalaC 853 155,5

asuloC 09 773,1

atsoCartnoC 759,5 859,04

etroNleD 35 775,1

odaroDlE 270,1 324,41

onserF 707,2 148,22

nnelG 031 869,1

tdlobmuH 864 858,7

lairepmI 546 877,2

oynI 602 603,1

nreK 651,3 509,61

sgniK 685 388,2

ekaL 600,1 459,01

nessaL 912 003,3

selegnAsoL 633,93 180,231

aredaM 736 868,5

niraM 246 384,01

asopiraM 48 934,1

onicodneM 693 073,5

decreM 728 157,6

codoM 22 887

onoM 061 186,1

*yeretnoM 381,1 638,9

apaN 566 865,7

adaveN 344 695,9

egnarO 808,52 495,18

����	����������	'����
����	(������	���	)��

* Monterey County statistics are split between Northern and Southern California.
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ytnuoC CWPderetsigeRlatoT slesseVderetsigeRlatoT
)CWPsedulcni(

recalP 740,2 951,02

samulP 891 918,3

edisreviR 723,71 180,05

otnemarcaS 437,4 476,74

otineBnaS 143 769,1

onidranreBnaS 966,71 022,25

ogeiDnaS 588,31 401,07

ocsicnarFnaS 864 956,4

niuqaoJnaS 517,2 780,62

opsibOsiuLnaS 306,1 894,31

oetaMnaS 541,2 956,41

arabraBatnaS 603,1 830,11

aralCatnaS 964,5 128,23

zurCatnaS 316 564,8

atsahS 052,1 083,81

arreiS 31 753

uoyiksiS 321 691,4

onaloS 818,1 864,61

amonoS 472,2 169,02

sualsinatS 963,2 431,91

rettuS 805 745,5

amaheT 582 753,4

ytinirT 18 171,2

eraluT 873,1 724,9

enmulouT 233 941,6

arutneV 012,6 347,72

oloY 854 232,6

abuY 513 460,4

etatSfotuO 874,1 230,6

LATOTDNARG 578,181 909,769

����	����������	'����
����	(������	���	)������������	
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ytnuoC rebmuN
stnediccAfo

rebmuN
seirujnIfo

rebmuN
seitilataFfo

fotnuomA
egamaDytreporP

rodamA 2 2 0 007,3$
ettuB 4 3 1 0002,01$

sarevalaC 7 4 0 000,92$
asuloC 3 5 0 007,2$

atsoCartnoC 3 3 1 000,5$
odaroDlE 5 2 0 002,6$

onserF 21 9 0 051,11$
lairepmI 7 8 0 000,71$

nreK 01 21 0 054,22$
sgniK 2 1 0 009,8$

ekaL 2 3 0 005,2$
nessaL 1 2 0 005,1$

selegnAsoL 72 81 0 056,53$
aredaM 21 01 0 051,9$

asopiraM 2 1 0 006,6$
**yeretnoM 1 0 0 006$

apaN 31 11 0 002,8$
adaveN 2 2 0 005,9$

***egnarO 4 1 0 003,3$
recalP 41 11 0 006,54$
samulP 3 3 0 000,6$

edisreviR 93 52 0 000,84$
otnemarcaS 3 1 0 050,6$

onidranreBnaS 92 12 2 005,73$
ogeiDnaS 61 81 0 004,81$

niuqaoJnaS 7 4 0 000,41$
opsibOsiuLnaS 2 0 0 005,1$

aralCatnaS 3 2 0 053,4$
atsahS 9 6 0 055,61$
onaloS 2 4 0 000,8$

sualsinatS 9 7 0 000,81$
ytinirT 1 1 0 005,2$
eraluT 5 8 0 003,21$

enmulouT 01 6 1 056,42$
abuY 2 2 0 005,8$

latoT 372 612 5 002,564$

* An accident is considered reportable if: a person dies, disappears, or is injured requiring medical attention beyond
first aid; vessel or other property damage exceeds $500; or there is complete loss of a vessel.  Not all accidents are
reported to the Department, due to either nonobservance or ignorance of the reporting law.

** Monterey County statistics are split between Northern and Southern California.

*** The increase in boating accidents in Orange County when compared with accident totals appearing in previous
reports is not due to an increase in accidents, but rather to an increase in the reporting of accidents to the Department.
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* An accident is considered reportable if:
a person dies, disappears, or is injured
requiring medical attention beyond first
aid; damage to a vessel or other property
exceeds $500; or there is complete loss
of a vessel.  Not all accidents are
reported to the Department, due to
either nonobservance or ignorance of
the reporting law.
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* Monterey County statistics are split between Northern and Southern California.

Number of Fatalities

Total 48

North Lakes 17
South Lakes 5
North Rivers 5
South Rivers 0
North Coast 3
South Coast 2
San Francisco Bay 3
Delta 9
Colorado River 4

Northern California
Boating Fatality

Southern California
Boating Fatality

Locations are approximate.
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* An accident is considered reportable if: a person dies, disappears, or is injured
requiring medical attention beyond first aid; vessel or other property damage
exceeds $500; or there is complete loss of a vessel.  Not all accidents are reported
to the Department, due to either nonobservance or ignorance of the reporting law.
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Life Jacket 10

No Life Jacket 37

Unknown 1

� Where testing could be conducted, 24%
of boating fatalities were found to be
alcohol related.

� The majority of alcohol-related boating
fatalities were the result of collisions with
other vessels (30%), falls overboard (30%),
and vessels capsizing (20%).

� The majority (60%) of the victims drowned.
Of this group, none were wearing life jackets.

� Of the 5 passengers killed in alcohol-related boating accidents, 4 contributed to
their deaths due to poor judgment related to alcohol consumption.  This finding
underscores the Department's long-held view that the “designated driver”
concept, which works well regarding motor vehicles, does not go far enough in
the boating environment.  Intoxicated passengers in and around vessels are
exposed to dangers that do not affect passengers in a motor vehicle, such as
falling overboard or swimming too close to a moving propeller.
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ChildrenChildrenChildrenChildrenChildren

As of January 1, 2001, California law now requires
children under the age of 12 to wear a life jacket when
aboard an underway vessel 26 feet in length or less.

Exceptions to this law include the operation of a
sailboat that does not exceed 30 feet in length or a
dinghy used directly between a moored boat and the
shore, or between two moored boats.

All VAll VAll VAll VAll Vesselsesselsesselsesselsessels

As of January 1, 2001, any person convicted of
one moving violation while operating a vessel
shall be ordered by the court to complete and
pass a boating safety course approved by the
Department of Boating and Waterways.  Proof of
completion and passage of the course must be
submitted to the court within seven months of
the time of the conviction.

Personal WPersonal WPersonal WPersonal WPersonal Watercraft and Watercraft and Watercraft and Watercraft and Watercraft and Water Skiersater Skiersater Skiersater Skiersater Skiers

As of January 1, 2001, every person on board a personal watercraft and
any person on water skis, an aquaplane or similar device must wear a
Coast Guard-approved Type I, II, III or V life jacket.

Exceptions to this law include a person aboard a personal watercraft
or being towed behind a vessel, if that person is a performer in a
professional exhibition, or preparing to participate in an official regatta,
marine parade, tournament or exhibition.  In lieu of wearing a Type I, II,
III or V Coast Guard-approved life jacket, any person engaged in slalom
skiing on a marked course, or any person engaged in barefoot, jump or
trick water skiing may elect to wear a wetsuit designed for the activity
and labeled by the manufacturer as a water ski wetsuit.  A Coast Guard-
approved Type I, II, III, or V life jacket must be carried in the tow vessel
for each skier electing to wear a wetsuit.
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Before Going Out…Before Going Out…Before Going Out…Before Going Out…Before Going Out…

Education

Many accidents happen because the operator did
not know some of the most basic boating safety
rules.  The Department offers a comprehensive
home study course that boaters can order free of
charge by calling (888) 326-2822(888) 326-2822(888) 326-2822(888) 326-2822(888) 326-2822. The Department
also offers free safety information including videos,
pamphlets, and other materials on such topics as
PWC operation, water skiing, and fishing.

The Department sponsors a number of aquatic
programs statewide where boaters can get on-the-
water training in a variety of activities.  Visit our
website at     wwwwwwwwwwwwwww.dbw.dbw.dbw.dbw.dbw.ca.gov.ca.gov.ca.gov.ca.gov.ca.gov to locate classes in
your area, or link to the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary
or the U.S. Power Squadrons who also offer courses.

Maintenance and Equipment Check

Check that your vessel is in good working order
before taking it out on the water.  Many accidents
caused by inoperable bilge pumps, engine
problems, and leaks in the hull could have been
avoided with proper maintenance.

Make sure your vessel is equipped with all
required safety equipment and that everyone on
board knows where it is.

Check the Weather

Many accidents could have been avoided if the
operator had checked the weather before venturing
out.  For your local forecast, visit the National
Weather Service's website at     wwwwwwwwwwwwwww.wrh.noaa.gov/.wrh.noaa.gov/.wrh.noaa.gov/.wrh.noaa.gov/.wrh.noaa.gov/
wrhq/nwspage.htmlwrhq/nwspage.htmlwrhq/nwspage.htmlwrhq/nwspage.htmlwrhq/nwspage.html.  Weather broadcasts can be
heard 24 hours a day in Northern California from
San Francisco on 162.55 MHz and from Eureka on
162.40 MHz and in Southern California from Los
Angeles on 162.55 MHz and from San Diego on
162.4 MHz.   Know your vessel's limitations
concerning the type of water conditions it can
handle and tell someone where you are going and
when you plan to return.

Once Underway…Once Underway…Once Underway…Once Underway…Once Underway…

Avoiding a Collision

Situation: Meeting head-on
Rule: Keep to the right

Situation: Crossing
Rule: Give the right-of-way to vessels

ahead and to the right

Situation: Overtaking another vessel
Rule: Give the right of way to the other vessel

and allow plenty of room

Docking

Be thoroughly familiar with the way your vessel
handles.  Many accidents occur because
operators aren't familiar with how the vessel
shifts or how quickly the vessel responds to
steering or throttle changes.

Operators should have a passenger act as a
"lookout" to help keep clear of the dock, other
passing vessels or people in the water.  Speed is
restricted to 5 MPH in the docking area.

The operator and passengers should keep their
hands inside the vessel in the docking area.  Severe
injuries, including crushed fingers and even
amputations, have resulted from boaters trying to
help fend off the dock.  Even vessels that are
traveling at 5 MPH present hazardous situations.
The operator should ensure that everyone on board
is aware of this danger.


